October Unprocessed

october unprocessed 2013

For October, I am taking the October Unprocessed challenge.

The rules are, basically:

Unprocessed food is any food that could be made by a person with reasonable skill in a home kitchen with whole-food ingredients. 

It doesn’t mean you actually have to make it yourself, it just means that for it to be considered “unprocessed” that you could, in theory, do so.

This is something I did last year, and found really satisfying. It wasn’t super hard since I mostly eat food I cook myself (because it is cheaper), but I ate well all month. It limited the amount of junky snacks I munched on in class and I felt much healthier.

I will be posting at least one recipe I made every week, so follow along or check back!

You can find more on the challenge here.

strawberry season

strawberry season

I also feel strongly that the local food movement is incredibly important. I worked on a CSA in high school rather than at a retail job or restaurant, and it opened my eyes. Local food supports jobs and small businesses in our communities (raise your hand if you think the economy needs a boost). It is also often less expensive, fresher, and more delicious because it hasn’t been shipped from a bajillion miles away. I no longer eat factory farmed meat- this results in me eating less meat overall, but more variety in my diet. Sometimes I’ll eat factory farmed meat when I go out, but I don’t buy it at home.

(Excuse the preachiness. This is how I choose to eat, but everyone has their own preferences, and I respect that. The world would be a boring place if everyone agreed with me.)

bees= local honey

bees= local honey

In the name of good food, onward!

2 comments
  1. Michele said:

    I love the pic of the honeybees. The girls really make the world a sweeter place! I hope you eat lots of local honey in October:)

    Like

Leave a comment