Summer dress series:: blue wrap dress

E-DSCN1805

Thrift stores seem to have an endless supply of dresses from the 1990’s. Wearing them is not so popular these days. So I assume that everyone who cleans out their closets gets rid of them, and they sit at goodwill… until… I find them. And transform them into something cute and totally wearable. I made this dress last year and it is one of my favorites.  It makes me feel like I could be sitting around sipping espresso in a French cafe.

Alas, no before picture. But here is how I did it.

All you need is one out of date wrap dress that is too long.

wrap dress modification

 

1. Hem the dress the length you want it.

2. Use the extra length to cut cap sleeves and bands to wind around the front straps. If you cut along the original hem, you won’t need to re-hem the sleeves.

3. Cinch the front straps and stitch them in place. Then sew on the cap sleeves. It is helpful to have a dress form or another pair of hands when pinning the sleeves in place (it is hard to pin behind your shoulder when you are wearing the dress). My savvy grandmother helped me with some of the pinning during a visit last year. You might need to hand sew the sleeves to the cinched part (I didn’t).

E-DSCN1834

 

4. If the sleeves stick out to the side too much, take out the excess fabric by putting a dart in the sleeve.

E-DSCN1832

Here’s the back of the dress (camera died so this is a low quality phone pic) and the side.

 

photo 4 E5

I also usually put a pin in the front to hold the wrap together over my boobs to make it a little more modest. Otherwise the wrap front of the dress would be too low. One modification I would make would be to add a button here instead of a pin.

As the French say, “fin.”

E-DSCN1833

 

dress // thrifted and altered :: moccasins // minnetonnka :: earrings // handmade

 

 

2 comments
  1. I like this one a lot, very girly and very flirty! Love the way you did the sleeves! LOVE. LOVE, LOVE!

    Like

Leave a comment

