Let’s talk about undercuts

E-DSCN1604

 

Let’s talk about undercuts.

Mainly, how I acquired mine. In August of 2013 (so about 7 months ago), I went to a women’s retreat. We camped in the woods, sang songs, talked about feminism, and I ran a screen printing tent. It was a little hippy-dippy, but I liked it. A few of the women there had some awesome alternative haircuts. One had shaved off parts of her hair and left the rest long.  I immediately fell in love with this juxtaposition of the feminine and the edgy. About a day (and not much more consideration) later I found someone to shave off the hair on the left side of my head. The love affair has been ongoing since then.

As far as upkeep, I buzz it about once a month. Currently it has a bit of a fade, but usually I just buzz it all off at a level 2. When I cut it, I pull the long parts to the right side of my head in a tight bun to avoid accidentally cutting my long hair and expanding my undercut.

The downside is that I can’t do as much cool braiding stuff with my hair like I used to. But I would happily make the trade again.

E-DSCN1603

And holy wow those ABM photoshop actions are amazing. I bought the mini collection for Photoshop- I used Petal and Jean to edit these photographs. I fiddled around with the settings a little after running the actions, and think it did just enough to boost the light and vibrancy of these pictures.

 

4 comments
  1. I’m currently working on getting the comment section open again. For some reason it is disabled. Thanks Marilla for alerting me to this.

    Like

  2. leeda said:

    you rock that undercut!!! makes me miss mine! mine came about with a rather less cool story, i was just cutting my nephew’s hair and he suggested i do it. he was 5 at the time. lol.

    –Leeda
    at this volume

    Like

    • That is an adorable story! That kid will be a trend setter some day. Where was your undercut? same place or down by your neck?

      Like

Leave a comment

