77 and Sunny

Image

I did a little summer clothing swap with one of my friends. I gave her some sweat pants and she gave me this black wrap dress- win! Only problem was that there was barely any overlap in the skirt when I wrapped it around my waist… the downfall of cheap wrap dresses. It was a windy day disaster just waiting to happen.

Before (BTW I’m wearing capris under the dress so I can demonstrate its lack of coverage without flashing you all):

Image

To add more fabric to the skirt, I cut out a panel and sewed it to the part of the skirt that wraps “under”. I basically just laid the dress out flat over some black fabric, and used chalk to draft the shape of the panel. Then I added seam allowances and cut it out.

Image

Here is the panel sewn into the dress:

Image

Mmm. Comfy.

Image

jewelry // handmade :: dress // clothing swap :: shirt // thrifted

shoes // Shoemint :: sunglasses // street vendor in France

 E-DSCN1568

2 comments
  1. Gram said:

    Nice, Claire – you’re always thinking

    Like

  2. Great idea to swap clothing, great idea to alter the dress! LOVE! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

