Spring scarf

 

 

IMG_3916_A

Scarves are one of my favorite things to wear, pretty much all the time. Except maybe on majorly hot summer days. Even then I have been known to wear scarves, because… protection from the sun! And when it’s not hot out, they keep me warm. Scarves are a winner in my book.

To make this scarf, I bought about a yard of red cotton fabric from the quilting section of the fabric store. After pre-washing it, I traced one of my favorite circle scarves (laid flat, of course). I ended up with two rectangles of 2.5 ft x 15 in. I serged them together with black thread, end to end. Then I serged a rolled hem around both edges of the scarf.

photo 3

photo 1

I thought about stamping it, but decided I like it how it is. Maybe I’ll stamp another project. I think the contrast of the black thread with the red fabric of this scarf is enough.

 

 

IMG_3913_A

IMG_3909_A

 

This has been a week of quick projects.

2 comments
  1. Michele Steiner said:

    I love the contrasting thread in the surging.

    Like

    • Thanks so much! I only have black and white serger thread, so I’m a little limited for choices, but I think the black turned out well.

      Like

Leave a comment

