Knit pencil skirt and the Barnes

IMG_3893

I have two quick projects for you this week.

The first one is this simple, knit pencil skirt.

One of my favorite things to wear are pencil skirts. I only had one, so I decided to make another.

I decided to make this skirt a little shorter than the other skirt so I didn’t have to make a slit in the back.

I bought about a yard of black cotton knit fabric, about the same weight and stretch as the fabric in the original skirt.

Then I traced the skirt, plus seam allowance.

trace pencil skirt

I traced the back and front parts of the skirt separately, so I could make the waistband higher in the back. The picture above shows the back panel. You can see how I curved the top edge up. I did the opposite for the front panel of the skirt (I curved the waistband down).

Then I serged the sides of the skirt together, made a simple waistband with elastic, and attached it to the top of the skirt.

I think it turned out really well. I pressed all the seams as I went along- I think that (plus careful topstitching) added to this skirt looking more professionally made.

IMG_3905

For the hem, I turned the fabric under and then ran two straight stitches along the edge. I stretched the fabric a little as I sewed to give the lines of stitching room to stretch with the fabric (because it’s a stretchy knit).

IMG_3902

It is hard to tell in these pictures, but I also curved the hem up a little near the side seams.

What do you think?

IMG_3900

Yea, I know it’s a little weird that I’m sitting on a bed- I just really liked the color of the blue comforter with my black and white outfit. Also it was a space with good light (and it was too cold out to shoot outside).

IMG_3889

 

Also I made it to the Barnes museum! The anticipation of the trip gave me enough of a push (through my creative block) to finish the skirt so I could wear it there. With the same tights, of course.

barnes claire

What an amazing museum. Barnes was a doctor and art collector who wanted to educate people about the principles of art- form, line, shape, and light. He created these “ensembles” to show relationships between the principles. He also included metalwork and furniture to show the universality of the human potential for creativity.

barnestour-blog480

photo source

(if you care about art at all you can keep reading, if not, hope you enjoyed the post! and have a nice day)

Thoughts on the art: In this ensemble, for example, you can see the flesh tones run horizontally through the larger paintings. Also (this is funny!) the chairs below the fleshy women on either end have wide seats so they can sit down. You can also see the back of the chairs mirrored in the painting on the front of the chest.

I would definitely recommend you visit if you are ever in Philadelphia.

Have a wonderful week and happy Monday!

 

 

2 comments
    • Thanks so much for reading! Tracing old garments to make new ones is one of the easiest ways I know how to make clothes.

      Like

Leave a comment

