Giving and asking (my first giveaway!)

I happened to hear Amanda Palmer’s TED talk, titled The Art of Asking, all about her giving her music away, and asking for support from her fans in return.
In case you haven’t had a chance to listen, here is the video:


(If you don’t feel like watching, she asks for support in the form of funding, places to sleep, neti pots, etc. and is happily rewarded by many adoring fans helping her out. She wonders if this is fair for her to be begging for what she gets, but the sharing makes the fans so happy, and she gives her music away for free, so she decides it is fair) I’m a fan of this idea.

And then, coincidentally, I happened to see a friend on the fakbok post one of those statuses you are supposed to repost. Usually, I think those are lame, but I thought this one was nice. You see, the point of this repost status is that it is all about getting and then giving away art. I, for one, think the world needs more art. So, I reposted it. Within 30 seconds I had my first response. Here is what I posted:

“I, Claire, hereby promise to make a small work of art for the first ten people who comment on this post and say “YES, I want in”. A ‘like’ alone is not enough of a commitment, nor is a comment about thinking Pay It Forward is a great idea.

You must in turn post this as your status update and make something for the first ten who comment on your status.

* The rules are simple: it has to be your work, made by you, and the recipient must receive it before 2014 ends…”

So I thought it might be nice to repeat that status on my blog, try to recreate that giving and asking spirit. I will send a piece of art to the first 10 commenters on this post. Make sure you leave your email so I can get your address. I will ship anywhere in the United States and Canada. All I ask in return is that you share what I give you on your blog, if you have one, or hang it up and tell people where you got it. I’d like to get a little publicity for the blog, and I love sharing my art!

Not telling you what I’ll send 😉 but you can find some past samples here and here.

Leave a comment

