Paper crane chain

20140115-002425.jpg

Raise your hand if you think origami is cool.
There is an old Japanese legend that if you make 1000 paper cranes, you will have eternal good luck. Well, I don’t quite have enough time to fold that many paper cranes, but I like the idea of a paper crane chain. I was aiming for 36 cranes (half of 36 is 18, also a good luck number).

Here’s how I made them:

origami-cranes

 After I had made all the cranes (my chain ended up with 29), I used a yarn needle to string them together. I tied a knot between each of the cranes to hold them up. I added a tassel to the end of the chain.

20140115-002421.jpg

I like how colorful and whimsical it is! I’ve hung it in a few places- first by a window, but now it is draped across the piano.

20140115-002434.jpg

20140114-155204.jpg

20140115-002429.jpg20140115-002418.jpgI made this paper crane chain while I was visiting a good friend of mine in Delaware. We used to hang out all the time and sew in high school, but it had been a few years since we hung out. While I was working on this project she was making a glittery banner. She keeps a tumblr blog that you can find here. We have made many projects together, one of which I’ll be sharing later this month (as soon as I can find some good pictures).

Hope you all are staying warm in whatever weather Mother Nature has thrown your way. Philly is finally sunny after a long run of grey skies.

1 comment
  1. Angela said:

    So beautiful! My aunt used to always make these paper crane chains, I’ve always wanted to as well 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

