Sweater alteration

20131228-221830.jpg

I bought this turtleneck sweater at Philly AIDS Thrift.
Ok quick side note- best thrift store I have found so far in Philly. So many hip kids there, searching through all the racks of vintage randomness, not sure of what treasure they will find. I geeked out the whole trip. A friend from school accompanied me on my first trip to this secondhand destination and was probably the only person in the store not looking at me funny as I oohed and aahed over everything.
But I digress. Back to sweater alteration.
I’m not a fan of turtlenecks, but liked the sweater (and it was $5 in good condition).
So, after tracing the neckline of a shirt I liked, I cut, serged, and hemmed a new neckline on the sweater.

20131228-222348.jpg

20131228-222355.jpg

The neckline looked really weird. It looked just like I had cut and sewed it. But then I found this great tutorial from Purlbee on how to crochet the edge of a blanket. Seemed like it would spiffy up (save?) my new sweater.
I used a size B crochet hook and embroidery floss to crochet around the neckline of the sweater. The pattern is simple- do three single crochet stitches into the same hole, then chain one, find a new hole, and repeat the three single crochet stitches. Head over to Purlbee’s website in the link above for more detailed instructions.
The color of the thread doesn’t match perfectly, but I think it goes along well with all the other embroidery on the sweater.

20131228-223622.jpg

20131228-223631.jpg

20131228-223642.jpg

20131228-223651.jpg
Ooh, aah! It’s kind of a cat lady sweater. So to end this post here is a picture of me holding a cat in my cat lady sweater.

20131228-223817.jpg

4 comments
  1. Ro said:

    looks amazing!

    Like

Leave a comment

