Kale salad for lunch


imageHere is another recipe from my October Unprocessed challenge! Kale salad. Around this time of year, the kale gets sweeter as the weather gets colder. This isn’t something I make too much earlier in the season because the greens can be too tough.

Anyway, back to lunch. I love big salads for lunch, piled high with whatever veggies and leftovers I have in the fridge. today it happened to be sweet corn, avocado, and apples.

First, I washed the kale, ripped it into little pieces and then stuffed as much of it as possible into my Tupperware container. I squeezed a lemon slice over it and drizzled on some olive oil and apple cider vinegar. next, I massaged the dressing into the kale. This helps make the greens more tender. I find that if I do this the night before and leave it in the fridge, the kale looks like it has been steamed and is even more tender. I think the acidity of the vinegar breaks it down. To finish I cut the toppings into little pieces and sprinkled them on top.

I popped the top on the container and threw it in my lunch bag, then into my backpack. Don’t forget a fork!

I try to have some protein on lunch salads, like a hard boiled egg or beans. I n this case, I didn’t have either, so I packed half of a peanutbutter sandwich. The salad was sweet, refreshing, and kept me full all afternoon.

image

Leave a comment

