Pumpkin Cake


image

Just last week I felt the first nip of cool fall weather. I’ve noticed that the city tends to stay much warmer than the surrounding areas- whenever I visit my parents, as soon as i get off the train it feels 10 degrees cooler even though the thermometer says both places are the same temperature.
With fall comes all things pumpkin. It can be a bit of overdone, but I really enjoy it. I’ve been getting that fall pumpkin itch. I realized I didn’t have a loaf pan to make pumpkin bread, so I made pumpkin cake instead (adapted from this recipe). It turned out to be moist, dense and delicious. I think it works well as a coffee cake and as a dessert.

For the cake:

1 c wheat flour

1 c white flour

1/2 c brown sugar

2 Tbsp white sugar

3 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 Tbsp pumpkin pie spice

3 Tbsp canola oil

3/4 cup yogurt

1 15oz can of pumpkin puree

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

1/3 cup chocolate chips (or craisins, or chopped nuts)

For the crumble:

1/4 c oats

2 Tbsp butter

2 Tbsp sugar

2 Tbsp flour

Mix dry ingredients and chocolate chips together. Mix wet ingredients in a separate bowl. Stir wet ingredients into dry. Mash the ingredients for the crumble together with a fork in a separate bow. Pour cake batter into a greased 9 inch pan. Sprinkle with the crumble and bake at 350 F for 45 minutes.

candid shot

candid shot, about to put the cake in the oven

image image

image

image

2 comments
  1. Michele said:

    Do you have a suggestion for substituting honey for either the brown or white sugar or both? It looks terrific and I’d like to try using my bees’ honey instead of sugar. Thanks!

    Like

  2. Try replacing both of the sugars with 1/3 cup honey. Also, add an extra 1/4 tsp of baking soda. Good luck and thanks for commenting!

    Like

Leave a comment

