Variegated leaf bracelet


image

I think the leaves of the croton plant are absolutely gorgeous:

croton
So when I saw the leaves used to make a cuff in a runway show (blogged about here), I decided to make my own.

2013-08-12 22.37.06 2013-08-12 22.37.20

I started out with some sketches

2013-08-12 22.41.16

I traced my sketches, pinned them onto felt, and cut them out. I sewed two leaves of each shape together to make each leaf thicker and sturdier. Then I painted.

2013-09-11 22.26.44

2013-08-21 09.29.07

I free-handed the designs while using my sketches as a reference, but could have also transferred the designs using tracing paper or a fabric pencil. I used magenta, dark green, light green, and yellow fabric paint. The easiest technique was to use the bottle they came in to apply the paint. I used a paintbrush for the magenta, but it was hard to control.

Finally, I laid out the leaves I liked best, and sewed them together. I used elastic and a snap to close the cuff.

IMG_3078 IMG_3079 IMG_3075 (1) IMG_3083

After I did all this work, I realized I could have just bought a fake plant and hot glued the false leaves to some elastic. Or done a photo transfer onto fabric to make the leaves, then sewn them together. At least it is one-of-a-kind! And I had a lot of fun making it.

2 comments
  1. De verdad que estaba buscando esto, la verdad que es bueno conseguir cosas asi, ahora mismo iniciaré un trabajo que se relaciona bastante con esto.

    Like

Leave a comment

