What do I do with this huge shirt? A quick tutorial on taking it in.


combine_images

“Holy moly!” you think, “What a big shirt on tiny little Claire.”

Well, I’m about to remedy that.

I saw shirts similar to this one on Skunkboy Blog and Fancy Treehouse that caught my eye. So I grabbed this one on sale through ASOS Petite. But when this size 4 arrived, I realized that it is HUGE! But it has serious potential. If only it was a little slimmer…

Here’s what I did:

20130914-230800.jpg

I put the shirt on inside out and pinned where I wanted the sides seams to be. Then I sewed a basting stitch starting about halfway down the sleeves, turning at the armpit (making sure to leave room for tatas), and then down the side. I turned it right side out and tried it on to check that it was the size I wanted and fit well. After making necessary adjustments through further application of basting stitches, some seam ripping, and further tryings-on of the shirt, I sewed a regular stitch right over the basting stitches. Then cut some of the excess fabric off and tried it on one more time (just to make sure it is exactly how I want it). Then I serged the raw edge.

2013-09-16 13.24.53

Yes, I know it’s a weird shape- I need some extra room up top. Your shirt will be shaped differently.

Instead of leaving the serging thread hanging, I like to turn it over the seam and sew a zig zag stitch to hold it down. I’m afraid that it will unravel if I just cut it, so I reinforce the end of the serging seam before I cut the excess thread off.

Ta daa!

combine_images_after

Next time you have a shirt that is too big, you can trace the first one you made by reading this post. Saves time.

2 comments
  1. Very clever! The shirt looks so good on you after you tapered the sides to fit. Very flattering!

    Like

Leave a comment

